Washington, DC 20515

February 5, 2025

Matthew J. Memoli, M.D., M.S. Acting Director National Institutes of Health (NIH) 9000 Rockville Pike Bethesda, Maryland 20892

Dear Acting Director Memoli:

Every American has a family member or loved one who has been affected by cancer. No one should have their clinical trial, or research critical to a cure delayed or suspended because of politics. We are deeply concerned by the effort to shut down public-facing work at the NIH, which has long enjoyed bipartisan support.

We demand that you take immediate action to resume this public-facing work, which has broad ramifications that affect everyday Americans. We are particularly concerned about impacts to clinical trials. We understand that purchasing orders to outside suppliers have been widely disrupted. For example, researchers who have clinical trial participants staying at the NIH's on-campus hospital, the Clinical Trial Center, weren't able to order test tubes to draw blood as well as other key study components. We are also concerned about any freeze of funding for NIH, which could hamper key clinical trials, research designed to secure cures, infrastructure needed to support research and clinical trials, and researchers and necessary support staff.

It is unacceptable to delay reviews that are critical to the advancement of important work. These meetings and study sections help determine which research projects to fund and disruptions could delay critical research and interrupt grant funding. For example, review panels for major Alzheimer's clinical trials scheduled for late January have reportedly been cancelled. Any delays that impact clinical trials will cause delays in developing new treatments, a major concern of the Alzheimer's community.

Uncertainty in funding can also have career-altering consequences, particularly for young scientists, who could leave the field or go abroad. This is a time when we want to attract the best talent and not lose it to China, Germany, or Canada. It is imperative that you restore funding, meetings and study sections to ensure delays don't negatively impact research. We also strongly urge you to provide an exemption from the federal hiring freeze to ensure clinical trials and critical research is not delayed or unable to be done through lack of staff.

We also raise concerns about the removal of guidance documents related to participants for clinical trials. It's very important to have representative samples in clinical trials in order to

improve our understanding of how different drugs and treatments impact different patient profiles. We ask that you please restore guidance for trials to better include diverse populations, because this is mission critical for the future of science and its impacts on the American public.

We are further concerned that your additional guidance not only failed to resolve these concerns, but continues them. The NIH is mission critical. Every day that no new studies are being launched, no preprinting, no procurement or contracting for new studies, equipment or research means one less cure or clinical trial that could save someone's life.

Sincerely,

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

phana Haycs

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Janannen bi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Jaceph D. morelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Madeleine J

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Avide J. Jan

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

N. Tokule

JU Tokuda Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

1.0

Nellie Pou Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

masy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Grace Meng Member of Congress

Jeblie Wassers

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

m Ku

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

h R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Sydney Kamlager Dove Member of Congress

Andre Carson Member of Congress

Mike Jer

Mike Levin Member of Congress

mic Felorer

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Sahas Subramanyam

Member of Congress

mone

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

umes V. Une

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

in Swelwell

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

Fauld tonles

Paul Tonko Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragan

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Mark Jalaan

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Jasmine Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

any d. Paris

Danny K. Navis Member of Congress

ALC

Ed Case Member of Congress

Jana Dalate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Mi Sevell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Katly Castor

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Andrea Selines

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Faster Bil

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Ulun

Kweisi Mfume Member of Congress

DAOUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Sugance Benamici

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

the knowle

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

ik Zanen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Jaun Friedra

Laura Friedman Member of Congress

Gum S. Presof

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

MALC

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Mullin

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Becen Bis

Becca Balint Member of Congress

h Magazine

Member of Congress

netton

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

O.C.L.

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasev

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

hra

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

ile Shonper

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

byle

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Member of Congress

iet

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

). Clarke otto 1

Wette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

ll Naller

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Troy A. Carter, Sr. Member of Congress

Var

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Cohra in

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Here Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Summer L. Lee

Summer L. Lee Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

mmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress