Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

July 29, 2021

The Honorable Deb Haaland Secretary Department of Interior 1849 C Street NW Washington, DC 20240

Dear Secretary Haaland:

We write to ask that you revisit the decision to delist the Gray Wolf, as we believe the science supports listing the Gray Wolf as "threatened" under the Endangered Species Act. We believe the Trump Administration willfully ignored the science of ESA listing decisions in favor of partisan political calculations when it moved to strip federal protections in the fall of 2020.

Since federal protections officially ceased in January 2021, several states, particularly in the Midwest and Northwest, have enacted anti-wolf policies, highlighting the need for strong federal protections. The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources authorized a hunt in late February at the height of breeding season, with a quota of 119 wolves, but issued 2,400 hunting tags, almost double the estimated population of wolves in the state. Set to take place over several days, the hunt was called off after 218 wolves, half of which were females and likely pregnant, were slaughtered in just three days.

Idaho allows year-round wolf hunting of adults and pups and permits the use of snares. In April, the Idaho Senate approved a bill that could allow for the killing of up to 90% of the state's wolf population. Not only do policies like that threaten the long-term stability of the species, but they also enable cruel and inhumane methods of slaughtering.

In Montana, the Governor has recently signed laws enabling the use of choke-hold snares and extending hunting and trapping further into the breeding season. Montana also allows hunters to seek reimbursement for gear and other wolf hunting and trapping-related costs in a bounty-like system. These policies promote cruel and inhumane slaughter for recreation.

Additionally, more than 400 scientists, and growing, have called on the Biden Administration to implement an emergency re-listing of wolves, viewing the new state laws as counter to North American wildlife recovery. According to the scientists, the laws recently enacted in states such as Idaho and Montana ignore the scientific literature on wolf biology and management. And by preventing wolves from being present in numbers that allow them to fill their ecological role, these policies will stymie the healthy functioning of ecosystems.

As an apex species, wolves play a critical role in ecosystems by keeping deer and elk populations in check, which has a positive effect on other plant and animal species. Carcasses from wolves' prey also provide food for other scavenger species. Recent studies have even found that by killing deer near roads and highways, or even just intimidating them to stay away, wolves are

reducing deer-vehicle collisions by 25%. Removing wolf populations from ecosystems around the country will have a myriad of unintended consequences for countless communities.

It is clear that after Trump Administration eliminated federal protections, states began accelerating policies that threaten decades of successful wolf recovery efforts across the country. Nearly 80 years after a federal extermination campaign that almost led to the extinction of the species, we cannot tacitly endorse the same practice at a state level. We must protect this critical species, rather than allow cruel and inhumane policies that are actively threatening one of the most successful ESA recovery stories.

We ask that you revisit the Trump administration decision, particularly in light of these new state efforts, and follow the science, rather than partisan aims. We believe the science will find that Gray Wolves are deserving of being relisted as "threatened" under the ESA. We look forward to your consideration of our request.

Sincerely,

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Raúl M. Griialva Member of Congress

Chair, Committee on Natural Resources

Peter A DeFazio Member of Congress

Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

uay MCBatt

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Deblie Wasserman Schultz

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jackie Speier

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II
Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress Mark Takano Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress Frank Pallone, Jr.
Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress M Dllgo

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal

Pramila Jayapal Ayanna Pressley
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Paus Dellate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Betty McCollum
Member of Congress

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Albio Sires

Albio Sires
Member of Congress

Marcy Kaptur
Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress Tom Malinowski Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

Int M. Cullie Steve Cohen David N. Cicilline Steve Cohen serrold Nadler Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress . Donal M'Eac L. A. Donald McEachin J. Luis Correa Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Rick Larsen Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress Marie Newman Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress Member of Congress Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss Member of Congress

Frederica & Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress Poter Wolch

Peter Welch Member of Congress Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney

Member of Congress

Grace Meng
Member of Congress

Ted Lieu

Member of Congress

ed W. Iren

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress Vvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress James R. Langevin
Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress David E. Price Member of Congress Mamie Raskin

Member of Congress

Dietar Eliene

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress



Jim Cooper Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Colin Z. Alfred Member of Congress Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Madeline Lean

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress Lucille Roybal-Allard Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer
Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer
Member of Congress

Ason Crow

Member of Congress