Press Releases


f t # e
Washington, February 2, 2015 | Tia Shuyler (202-225-4376) | comments
U.S. Representative Don Beyer, Northern Virginia Democrat and member of the House Natural Resources Committee, was confirmed as the newest member of the House Committee on Science, Space, and Technology.

“The Committee on Science, Space, and Technology drives the innovation that has shaped the way we live our lives, thanks to advancements in aeronautical engineering, space exploration, and non-military research and development,” said Rep Beyer. “For the past half century Northern Virginia has been at the forefront of these fields, and has helped spur development around the country. I look forward to working with my colleagues to maintain our position as a global technology leader and center for STEM research and education. I am eager to support the innovation that will shape the next half century as we work to combat the crisis of climate change and create a new American economy.”

Congressman Lamar Smith (TX-21) is the Chairman and Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30) is the incoming Ranking Member on Science, Space, and Technology.

Ranking Member Bernice Johnson said, "I want to extend a warm welcome from the Committee on Science, Space, and Technology to Congressman Beyer. In this Congress, Democrats on the Committee will have an opportunity and a responsibility to positively affect our nation's future through our consideration of issues such as education, research, energy, space exploration, manufacturing, and the environment. I believe Mr. Beyer will be a great asset to the Committee and I look forward to working with him this Congress."

The Committee on Science, Space, and Technology has jurisdiction over all energy research, development, and demonstration, as well as all federally owned or operated non-military energy laboratories; space research and development, including resources, personnel, equipment, and facilities; civil aviation research and development; environmental research and development; marine research; commercial application of energy technology; National Institute of Standards and Technology; National Aeronautics and Space Administration; the National Science Foundation; National Weather Service; outer space exploration; science scholarships; and scientific research, development, and demonstration. The Committee is comprised of 49 Representatives, 22 Republicans and 17 Democrats.

Click here to read more about the Committee’s specific jurisdiction.
f t # e