Press Releases

Beyer Statement On Secretary Foxx’s WMATA Board Appointments

All Three of Sec. Foxx New Appointees To Metro Board Come With Backgrounds In Safety Regulation

f t # e
Washington, April 28, 2016 | comments

Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx today announced three new federal appointees to the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) Board of Directors, exercising his newly-granted authority under the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act. Under the FAST Act, Virginia, Maryland, D.C., and the federal government may appoint four members each to the 16 member board.  

“Secretary Foxx’s appointments represent the federal government’s focus on passenger safety at Metro,” said Rep. Don Beyer. “I welcome these appointees, and they join the Board at an historically challenging time.  Ensuring that WMATA prioritizes rider safety and reliability is critical to Metro’s future in the National Capital Region.”

Secretary Foxx’s appointees will bring a wealth of experience in transportation safety to WMATA’s Board of Directors. Carol Carmody previously served on the National Transportation Safety Board, including two stints as acting Chair. David Strickland was previously Administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and Robert Lauby is Chief Safety Officer for the Federal Railroad Administration.

WMATA Board Member Anthony E. Costa, a Senior Advisor to the Administrator of the General Services Administration (GSA), will remain an Alternate Director.

f t # e